Quote for Thought: Don’t Forget You’re a Beautiful Swan

It matters nothing if one is born in a duck-yard, if one has only lain in a swan’s egg.

Hans Christian Andersen, “The Ugly Duckling”

DSC01327

Picture taken by me in Bled, Slovenia.

I like how several Hans Christian Andersen’s tales deal with characters who are different, cast out, or don’t belong in their environment – “The Ugly Duckling”, “Thumbelina”, “The Silver Shilling” to name a few. And in the end, all of those characters find happiness. It is hard to be different or misunderstood, but if you are a beautiful swan inside, it eventually always shows on the outside. Everybody deserves to be who they truly are, and we should all think twice before judging someone. If anyone struggles with similar problems, I hope you these quotes might give you at least a little strength.

“All my troubles were ended, joy came back to me, for I was of good silver, and had the right stamp, and I had no more disagreeables to endure, though a hole had been bored though me, as throughΒ a false coin; but that doesn’t matter if one is not really false. One must wait for the end, and one will be righted at last – that’s my belief.” said the Shilling.

Hans Christian Andersed, “The Silver Shilling”

3 thoughts on “Quote for Thought: Don’t Forget You’re a Beautiful Swan

Leave a Reply

