I hate summer.

I have the privilege of living next to the sea. However, I’m sometimes really ungrateful and my hate for the hot summer overshadows the beauty of the sea. (In my defence, it really is too hot here…) I love the sea, but I hate the beaches so full of people and I hate being in the sun – I’m really pale so my skin doesn’t appreciate it as well.  In a few days I’m leaving for a vacation in Scotland, a wonderful attempt to escape summer for a while. For now, it’s like this…


I hate summer.

Smell of sweat and sea salt
Trapped by the thick air.

Crickets singing their song
A failed attepmt
To make the heat bareable.

Heavy eyes
From sleepless nights
When breathing seems hard.

Scorching sun
Scarce shade
Skin burns all the same.

Ripe figs
Crushed on the ground
Sticking to the sandals
And dusty feet.

Hot soles
Dragging home
An air-conditioned paradise.

Leave a Reply

