Captured Moments… Scotland

scotland goth.png

I have returned from my vacation in Scotland, full of impressions. I’ve always loved to travel, and even as a kid I often travelled with my family. Travelling can be expensive, but it’s worth giving up some other things in order to save for a trip. Getting in touch with different countries and cultures really broadens your horizons and I love it!

Anyway, that’s the reason I wasn’t very active on my blog for a while. But, I do bring you some amazing and inspiring photos of the Scottish nature and castles. The photos don’t really do it justice, I have to say. The experience of being there is something that cannot be translated to an image. However, the photos are still beautiful and I hope you’ll be as inspired as I was. The Scottish landscape and stories told by our great and funny tour guides really did inspire me and they helped me develop the story of the book I’m currently working on (though quite slowly). Enjoy!

Oh, and I might do a post with images of castles as well. 🙂 Most of those images are not on my camera so I don’t have them on my laptop yet.

DSC01513DSC01511DSC01518DSC01519DSC01521DSC01555DSC01562DSC01568

And, to finish this post bookishly, I did buy some books there! I found a store which had a discount on Wordsworth Classics and some other books, three for 5 pounds, so I picked some I wanted to read. I also bought The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory at the Edinburgh Castle shop. It’s a book about Mary Stuart, so it seemed fitting. I know these books are not really historically accurate, but they have been a guilty pleasure of mine for a while now. They are the easy reads I pick up when I’m tired for anything else. But they can also motivate me to explore the real history behind them and to find out more about the historical characters they mention.

DSC01577

14 thoughts on “Captured Moments… Scotland

  1. Scotland is one of the most beautiful and amazing places I’ve been! Really loved it there!

    In terms of books I can recommend the Sixth Wife by Jean Plaidy, it’s about the last wife of Henry VIII, Katherine Parr. As you said yourself it probably isn’t completely historically accurate, but I think it portrays very well how people lived back in those days and how different their values were.

    Oh, and I love your blog! ^_^

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for your comment and recommendation, I’ve read one book by Jean Plaidy, it was about Lucrezia Borgia, and I might check out the Sixth Wife as well. And I agree, Scotland is so amazing! 🙂

      Like

  2. Love your photos. “Far from the Madding Crowd” is my favourite Thomas Hardy book. Next time visit Dorset – Thomas Hardy country.
    If you like the Philippa Gregory book, then she is a prolific writer of British historical novels – all from the women’s perspectives. I learnt so much interesting history from her books that seemed so boring at school. Loved “The White Queen”, “The Red Queen” and there is a good book about Henry VIII from the perspective of Ann Boleyn’s sister (the mother of Henry VIII’s bastard son) called “The Other Boleyn Girl” which has also been made into a film.
    The Sixth Wife by Jean Plaidy, that Lampoon recommends sound interesting – I might get around to reading that.

    Like

    • “The Red Queen” is probably my favourite Philippa Gregory book even though the main character is not very likable but that was what made her interesting. I’m currently reading “Far from the Madding Crowd” and I’m loving it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

