Audiobooks?

This is just a short personal update, but I thought it might be nice to share it.

So, I have just finished listening to my first audiobook. (Yes, I know, it’s a bit weird I haven’t tried it earlier.) I listened to The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides, a book I have wanted to read for a while, but just didn’t get my hands on. First, I’m going to say that I liked the book. It provokes a feeling of uneasiness and is at times creepy, but it’s something I don’t have a problem with. It’s done quite well and I loved the style which at times felt like listening to a poem. What I fear, however, is that I might have enjoyed the book better if I had actually read a physical copy.

Listening is not for me, it seems. It hard for me to concentrate and my mind wonders off. I had to go back and listen at some parts more then once. Maybe it’s a question of adjustment, but I am generally a visual person and I need something to get my eyes’ attention. It’s a shame, though, since I think audiobooks are quite practical at times, especially for listening on the go, and especially since I can’t really read on any kind of transportation – buses, cars, trains, aeroplanes – since I get dizzy and nauseous. So, in the end, I decided I’m not giving them up yet.

So, what do you think about audiobooks? Do you like them? Was it hard fro you to ajdust to listening as well?

P.S. I remember listening to fairy tales on the cassette player when I was a kid. I loved it then so I might learn to like it again. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Audiobooks?

  1. I listened to an audio book once, but sadly I couldn’t finish it. There were always things that got me distracted, mainly my own thoughts.

    That said as a kid I enjoyed listening to the Little Mermaid on a cassette, although it was a children’s story and it was far more engaging than reading 200 page book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love audio books. I listen to ghost stories, Sherlock Holmes stories that kind of thing, short stories mostly. I usually listen in bed to help me unwind and drift off or when I’m eating so my eyes are busy with food lol. Otherwise I do get distracted. But then my mind wanders when I’m reading too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with you on audio books, it is too easy to get distracted and lose the train of thought and skipping back and forward is a lot less easy than with a book, I do miss cassettes, they were much fun than CD’s and much more substantial than a download.

    I enjoyed The Virgin Suicides which is perhaps the wrong word but it suffices as it is Saturday and I feel lazy.

    Like

  4. Hi, Thank you the ‘like’ on my poem alabaster. I find audio books practical for doing more than one thing, depending on how taxing it is, I find I managed and after one book I went on to the sequel. It was different and certainly handy in bed with headphones when my hubby likes the dark!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I get distracted too easily I guess xD I’ve listened to another audiobook since I wrote this post and I listened to it only in bed, with lights off. It was easier that way but I still got distracted at times. XD Maybe it just takes time to adjust.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

