Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Polarizing Books

top-wed-goth

There are certain books that people seem to either love or hate, with no in between. For this Top 5 Wednesday, I was supposed to chose 5 of those books that I like. Honesty, I’m not completely sure if these fall into this category, but from what I’ve heard I think they do. Also, some of these are not really favourites of mine, but I don’t hate them as some people do.

Let’s start!

1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontรซ

348914

I love this book and it’s one of my absolute favourites. I know a lot of people who share these feeling, but I’ve also come across a lot of people who kind of hate it… Which makes me a bit sad… Those people often say that characters are unlikeable, but I think the part of what makes this book great is the flawed characters. I did come to care for them, in spite of their flaws.

2. American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis

28676

I can understand why some people don’t like this book. It’s not a pleasant one to read. But I still loved it! I already mentioned it in a post about my favourite villains – the way it’s written is just amazing!

3. Medieval sagas

24658

I don’t think this is a case of love-or-hate, it’s more like: some people enjoy these sagas and others don’t read them at all. I loved The Song of the Nibelungs (or the Nibelungenlied), The Saga of the Volsungsย (Vรถlsunga saga) and I loved Beowulf. There’s just something about these stories that fascinates me. I’m kind of a medieval geek. ๐Ÿ˜„

4. Theย DaVinci Code by Dan Brown

968

You don’t read books like this for the wonderful prose, you read them for the fun and mystery. I was still in high school when I read it and I found it very interesting then. I also liked Angels and Demons. It was a perfect fast-paced summer read.

5. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

41865

I didn’t know which book to choose next, so here’s one I don’t actually like, but I don’t hate it as much as some do. Twilight is a book that really gets a lot of hate and a lot of love at the same time. And yes, it’s not a book I love, but I did like it when I first read it (this was also in high school) and I wanted to know what would happen next. The books get worse and worse as the series progresses, that I have to admit, but the first one wasn’t that bad.

So, do you have any thoughts about these books? I’d like to hear from you! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

20 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Polarizing Books

    • It was fun for me, too. I can’t say I loved it (especially the last one) but I think it kind of became popular to hate it, which wasn’t that fair. I understand some concerns about it but that doesn’t mean everyone should hate it.

      Like

  1. Yay! Another Wuthering Heights fan ๐Ÿ˜€ *high five* I’ll choose that book any day over Jane Eyre haha. And I’ve seen Twilight on a few posts for this topic. It’s definitely a polarizing book, and even though we’re not as fond of it as before, I feel most of us loved (or at least liked) it at first. That’s why I kind of appreciate it, despite ALL its flaws haha. Great list! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. hello irena its dennis the vizsla dog oh hay my dada sez he haaaaaated the davinci kode!!! thats just how he sed it haaaaaated!!! but he sed he luvd american psycho and thawte the moovee wuz a hilaryus blak komedy so theirs that i gess!!! ha ha ok bye

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great list. I hate that Dan Brown gets so much crap- I loved The Davinci Code and Angels & Demons, though I also read them in high school so I guess it’s time for a re-read. I loved Seamus Heaney’s translation of Beowulf as well. โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ’•

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Unpopular Opinions Book Tag – BOOKS AND HOT TEA

Leave a Reply

