Top 5 Wednesday: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

top-wed-gothTop 5 Wendesday is hosted by Samatha. The guidelines and topics can be found on the Goodreads group.


The topic of this week’s Top 5 Wednesday are the books that help you get out of a reading slump. Now, I don’t have a big problem with reading slumps. Sometimes I read for many hours a day, sometimes just a little bit before I go to bed, but I don’t think I’ve ever had a really long rading slump. (except in high school, when we had many exams, and I was stressed – I’m looking at you Croatian education system!) Anyway, this is the closest I can get to writing this post.

1. A book I’m really excited to read

Yes, this may be a cheat. But sometimes, there are some great books that you feel you should read, but you’re not really in the mood for – and those can lead to a reading slump. It’s fine to leave a book for another time and read something you really want to at the moment.

giphy.gif

2. A superhero comic

Or any fun comic that I will rush though, and that doesn’t make me think too much, but instead just helps me remember how fun reading is.

3. Romantic poetry

491px-john_keats_by_william_hilton

I love romantic poetry! Especially Keats and Percy Shelley. It’s very easy to find a lot of their poem on the internet, so I sometimes just google them and enjoy. They also always make me want to write my own poetry. πŸ™‚

4. The all-time-favourite

Frankenstein, in my case. ❀ I don’t necessarily read the entire book, I just like to read some parts of it from time to time. It also always gets me in the mood to read some classics.

5. The collected works of Oscar Wilde

I think short stories are great for getting you out of a reading slump. And since I love Oscar Wilde, it’s nice to revisit some of his stories from time to time. He’s the king of wit, after all, and I’ll end this post with a few of his quotes. πŸ˜‰

Untitled.png

 

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Leave a Reply

