Top 5 Wednesday: Top SFF Books on My TBR

top-wed-goth

Top 5 Wednesday is hosted by Samatha at Thoughts on Tomes. The guidelines and topics can be found on theΒ Goodreads group.


This week’s topic are fantasy and science fiction books, but the ones you haven’t read yet, but want to read SOON! There are much more than five SFF books I really want to read, but here are the six books that first came to mind so I guess I want to read them most. Yes, I said six. Five is not enough this time. πŸ˜‰

1. Tropic of Serpents by Marie Brennan

12974372.jpg

I ordered this book recently and I can’t wait for it to arrive! I loved the first book in the series, A Natural History of Dragons, which you probably know since I’ve talked about it a lot. Lady Trent is a dragon naturalist, and that is basically my dream job. I have to read this, soon! Actually, I have to read all of these books. The last one comes out in a month or so. πŸ™‚

2. Royal Assasin by Robin Hobb

25300956.jpg

I’ve recently read the first book in the Farseer Trilogy, Assasin’s Apprentice and I can’t wait to continue with the series. I really like the main character, Fitz, the world, and I want to learn more about the Fool!

3.Β TheΒ Long Way to a Small, Angry PlanetΒ by Becky Chambers

25201920.jpg

I’ve heard great things about this book. It’s supposed to be a very character driven science fiction/ space opera with aliens – which sounds amazing. My boyfriend actually bought a copy recently, so I’ll borrow it from him. Soon, of course. πŸ˜‰

4. Company of LiarsΒ by Karen Maitland

2761171.jpg

I don’t know much about this book, but it is set in the Middle Ages and has some magical elements, so it’s a combination of historical fiction and fantasy. I’m a bit obsessed with the Middle Ages, so this is a must-read for me.

5. The Winter King by Bernard Cornwell

11699436.jpg

This is the first book in Bernard Cornwell’s series about King Arthur, and as a huge fan of Arthurian legends I need to read it! Also, I kind of want these covers… They are so pretty. (Yes, you shouldn’t judge the book by the cover, but just look at them!)

6. Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

9579634.jpg

This is an epic fantasy book, also a first in the series which is often classified as dark fantasy. It’s supposed to be very, very violent and gritty, and that kind of draws me to it… I’m probably crazy. πŸ˜„ But I think dark and violent books can be great if done well. That’s why I can’t help being intrigued by this one.

Have you read any of these? Did you like them?

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Top SFF Books on My TBR

  1. I love reading books about dragons, so I definitely need to check out A Natural History of Dragons – especially since I have heard amazing things about it as well! πŸ˜€ I haven’t read anything by Robin Hobb yet, though I really want to. But that’s going to have to wait, as I want to complete a few series before starting any new ones. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

