Song Tag

Last week’s been quite crazy. Besides work, I also had my Swedish exam – I’ve been learning Swedish for three and a half years now. (She said proudly.)
Anyway, I didn’t have time to write, but I wanted to stop neglecting my blog. So I decided to do something simple – the Song Tag I’ve been seeing on Tumblr. I haven’t talked about music on this blog before and it’s time to do something about it. And song lyrics are literature as well. 🙂

music-844887_1920
Image courtesy of Pixabay.com

The rules are: write the first ten songs that come up on shuffle and write down your favourite lines from each song. The rules also say to tag ten people. I won’t be doing that, but it would be nice to learn something about the music you listen to so I’d be happy if you choose to do it. 🙂

So, here’s my list:

1.Digital Daggers – The Devil Within

Digital Daggers may sound a bit too “poppish” for my taste, but I love them anyway. And these lyrics are gorgeously eerie:

I will be here/ When you think you’re all alone/ Seeping through the cracks/ I’m the poison in your bones/ My love is your disease/ I won’t let it set you free/ Til I break you

2. The Romanovs – White Flag

I’m so happy this song showed up, it’s one of my favourites!

You’re made of curves of glass / Blown out with air from the lungs of god/ Filled with sand, tan and fine / That flows too quickly to the bottom

3. Garbage – I Hate Love

They shore you up. They lay all their dreams on you/ They let you in and you start to believe you’re soft as a miracle/ Unfurled, I was new and unfurled/ Innocent and open as any lamb and hoping for paradise.

4. Lacrimas Profundere – My Velvet Little Darkness

You give me my lust/ And you are my frost/ I hate what you do but can’t resist/ Your sweet charming/ And always harming/ Cold little embrace

5. Disturbed – Down with the Sickness

Drowning deep in my sea of loathing/ Broken your servant I kneel/ It seems what’s left of my human side/ Is slowly changing in me

6. The Cruxshadows – Marilyn, My Bitterness

My wings will fold around me now/ for once a one was two/ and my memory is a monument/ that will always stand for you

7. Emilie Autumn – Castle Down

One of my favourite artists! (Though, not one of my favourite songs, but still a very, very good one.)

And you were there when I/ Built my tower like pebbles in the rain/ Trying to balance all that I had left/ With what I didn’t have any more

8. Inkubus Sukkubus – We Belong with the Dead

Come and sleep eternal sleep/ Don’t you fear and don’t you weep/ On a chariot we shall ride, all the way to suicide/ You took me up, you dragged me down/ Now my soul is quite unbound/ Don’t you try to change my mind/ To sense and reason I am blind

9. London after Midnight – Pain Looks Good on You

I cheated a little bit because I got another Lacrimas Profundere song, and I wanted to mention different artists so I skipped to the next one. Sorry, not sorry. Because I love London after Midnight. 😉 And this song is about not being indifferent to all the horrible things that are happening around us, so it deserves to be mentioned.

What will you do?/ What will it prove?/ When your indifference comes back to you?/ What can I say to make you understand?/ All of your misery comes from your own hands.

10. Lorde – Yellow Flicker Beat

I don’t really listen to Lorde, I have to admit, though I find her interesting. And I adore this song. So, I really should listen to more Lorde from now on…

I’m a princess cut from marble, smoother than a storm/ And the scars that mark my body, they’re silver and gold/ My blood is a flood of rubies, precious stones/ It keeps my veins hot, the fires find a home in me/ I move through town, I’m quiet like a fire/ And my necklace is of rope, I tie it and untie it

And that’s all. Hope you enjoyed it! 🙂